Regional Education Committee

  • Role of the Education Committee

  • The effectiveness of our school is strengthened by clergy and lay people working together with faith and commitment for the education of our young people. As parishioners of St. James, St. Ann’s, St. Joseph’s, Mission, and Sts. Joachim and Ann parishes, we are all called to practise stewardship. For some of us that means being called to serve as members of the Education Committee at St. James & St. Ann’s School. By committing ourselves to this role, we accept the responsibilities of governance laid out by the CISVA. We are committed to high standards as well as fostering education that develops Christian leaders, responsible citizens and life-long learners.

    The Education Committee represents the Board of Directors of the CISVA at the local level, it implements Archdiocesan policies, and it sets local school policies. The E.C. assists the Pastor and the Principal in the operation of the school as outlined in the CISVA Policy Manual. The Education Committee of St. James & St. Ann’s School is comprised of the Pastor (Archbishop’s Representative), and eight other members, two from each of the following parishes:  St. James, St. Ann’s, St. Joseph’s, Mission, and Sts. Joachim and Ann.

    All parents are welcome to attend Education Committee meetings, which are usually held the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:30pm. Meetings are open except for in-camera sessions. The required procedure for making a presentation at a meeting is to inform the Chairperson in writing seven days prior to the meeting.  Education Committee members can be easily contacted at any time through the School Office should you wish to do so.

    For more information, please consult or if you wish to talk with the Education Committee Chair via email address: 

  • Schedule of meetings

    The meetings for the 2021-2022 school year are scheduled for: August 25th, September 29th, October 27th, November 24th, January 12th, February 9th, April 20th, May 25th and June 15th.

  • Current Education Committee Members

    • Fr. Richard Zanotti, Archbishop’s Representative
    • Tasha Mijinke, Chairperson
    • Winsome Rauch, Vice-Chairperson/Society Delegate
    • Stephen Scharff, Treasurer
    • Heather MacDonald, Secretary
    • Elizabeth Ocon, Fundraising
    • Kyla Pleasure, Maintenance
    • Tina Girard, Community Relations
    • Parent Participation - Vacant Position